BOOK REVIEW: Once We Were Brothers

Once We Were Brothers

by Ronald H. Balson

When I was a child, I wanted to know. I asked a lot of questions. I asked my mother what she knew about what was going on in Europe during World War II; not very much, was her total response. I asked my father what it was like after his parents divorced and I got no answer. I asked my grandmother what her life was like in Russia, and she waved me away.

Maybe my questions were too vague. Maybe they struck nerves. Maybe I was just too young when I asked those questions.

Ben Solomon tells it all. At 83, he is looking back on his life in Poland before the war. He tells Catherine Lockhart his story because he wants her to know how he loved Otto Piatek like a brother, how his parents took Otto in and embraced him. He wanted Catherine Lockhart the lawyer to help him expose Otto Piatek for who he really is and who he was, and sue him for all the money and jewels he stole from the family. He wants Catherine to know the horrors suffered at the hands of Otto Piatek, former Nazi.

Once We Were Brothers is a warm, loving story strangled in the arms of bigotry and hatred and inhumanity. Will Ben be able to prove that Elliot Rosenzweig, now rich and powerful, is indeed Otto Piatek, “The Butcher of Zamosc”? It is a gripping, agonizing, gut-wrenching story, eloquently told.

4 responses to “BOOK REVIEW: Once We Were Brothers

  1. Wait a minute. A lawyer named Lockhart? Did she have a partner named Gardner? 🙂

    But seriously, it sounds like a good book.

  2. Wow. This book sounds excellent.

What do you think?