A Lot of Hoopla

I wanted a hula hoop, plain and simple. I want gentle exercise that gets me moving, is fun, and burns up a few calories in the process. I thought it would be great sport to twirl a hula hoop, move my hips and feet, and dance to music. I was always good at hula hooping. Dancing to my old favorite songs while hula hooping sounded like a great exercise plan. So I started with a 2-lb weighted hula hoop. Two pounds did not sound nearly as heavy as it proved to be. I do not want to cause bruising, soreness, or aching, as the experts recommend (no pain, no gain, blah, blah, blah) – just some gentle and fun activity. So next I turned to this hula hoop.

Pictured: Green and white striped hula hoop with vague illustration of included lights.

This hula hoop is advertised as adjustable. The listing states:

 “Hoola hoop features 8 pieces that snap together and pull apart so you can adjust the size, The installation steps are simple.”

NOT TRUE. It is one long piece of tubing.

I did not care about the lights, although that could be fun. Frankly, too many reviewers said the lights do not work. So I was not in it for the lights.

To get started, first you have to uncoil a tightly coiled strip of rather thick tubing. That alone proved to be a very difficult task. The hoop came in a small box and the one long tube had three coils twisted together. Uncoiling was difficult, but ultimately doable. Then instructions say to leave the uncoiled hoop alone for 8 hours before completing the assembly process. And I did. The hula hoop rested overnight under my sofa where I felt it would be safe from suddenly flying from tension, spring action or reaction, or something. I was afraid for my windows, TV, etc.

In the morning, the hula hoop was round, but still unassembled. All I had left to do was to push in the little silver-colored button (probably stainless steel) and squeeze the two ends together. The little button, however, would not budge. The two ends could not merge. I tried until exhaustion took over and my fingers were red and deformed with a deep indentation in my finger from pressing on that button. Then there were two of us working on this “easy-to-assemble” thing — one to press the button and the other to move the two ends together. After an hour of torture we gave up.

I just wanted a plain and simple, unweighted, full-size hula hoop. Instead I got a useless piece of junk.

5 responses to “A Lot of Hoopla

  1. You are crafty so if you could not fix it is useless!

    • It was only vaguely similar to what I ordered, and then defective to boot!

      I hadn’t heard from you in too long and even wrote to Marion to ask about you. I never heard back – which made me even more concerned! I do hope you are doing well. Update me by text. I suspect you have a lot to tell.

      • Hi, no news except did go to The HolyLand before war broke out. So normal to see both peoples doing biz together.😊Horrifying and primitive to see murder occurring on a daily

        basis. Breaks my heart that we resort to guns to solve our

        problems. I keep praying humans will evolve into higher

        beings but….

         I lost one special sister, Clarebeth, to a very sad death.

        and another within a year (she will not permit me to visit.)

        Only given me the motivation to put my house in order. I

        made church, cemetery and cremation plans by myself

        and, instead of feeling morbid, I feel good and ready to

        leave this planet anytime (sooner than later) to be with God

        for eternity. A good foreign missionary has helped me get

        on a path so congruent w/my values I know I am greatly

        blessed. Still await a purification of my soul which I know

        I need—— to be w/God. A spiritual life gives me much

        peace while material world is no longer sought. Taken me

        seven years, with graces, to be on this important mission.

          Good and special friend Marion, agreed to follow my

        plans after death and I am beyond greatful she accepted my request. She continues making fresh scones every Wed as

        we gather together w/hot tea @ 4pm. My four loving brothers

        live all over the country so especially appreciate Marion’s assist. Still mobile , I love walking mainly along the river, supported and enriched w/two Catholic parishes (Jesuits

        and St. John Society missionaries. All is good w/everyday challenges keeping me busy.

        love to you and Prince Charming. In your NY HOME, SALLY

  2. Well, that’s a disappointing ending. Are you going to try another hula hoop, or do you feel like you’re going in circles?

    • — This is my second hula hoop in one week. The first one is good but just too heavy and maybe if I were younger I might appreciate it more. This one is just horrible. Nothing like what I thought I would be getting. I would try again but finding a plain and simple hula hoop for adults is quite the challenge, it turns out. Hula hoops today – the plain and simple ones – are made for children. I have no objection to that, but they also sized them down. It became quite a competitive field! I need a plain hula hoop that has a diameter of 36-40 inches. And I am so tired of searching.

      Good pun, by the way.

What do you think?